The One with the Giddy Futhubs

25 Jan

I’ve never seen him so giddy.

But let’s take it back a step.  Last week a package came in the mail from Amazon: the wedding band for my betrothed.  (I love the word ‘betrothed.’  It just sounds so romantic.  Also, who knew Amazon sold wedding bands?  : ) Anyhow, I was debating whether or not to hold off on showing him the ring until our wedding day.  But then I couldn’t wait.  It had come in the mail and it was bright and gleaming and in a cushy box and– ahh!  How could I not?

The Futhubs' Ring

So as the futhubs was serenading me on the guitar with the song we’d chosen for our processional (eeeee : ) I got down on one knee and asked him to marry me.  He stopped short, whipped off his guitar, and I slid the ring onto his finger.  “Wow.  This is perfect!” he said.  He took me up in his arms and whispered, “We’re getting married!”

Hours later he was still fiddling with the ring– repeatedly taking it off and putting it back on to admire the fit (on his right hand though, since he wants to wait til our wedding day to wear it on the left).  Days later my futhubs was still playing show-and-tell with everyone we saw telling them about his new wedding band.  At church this past Sunday, I caught him sliding it around on his finger as our pastor gave his sermon.  It’s adorable how much he loves this ring.  And I love that he doesn’t care whether or not a guy is ‘supposed’ to get this excited about his wedding band– I love that he just is.

And I’m so glad that we both can enjoy different elements of this wedding planning process.  And that we’re both stoked about wearing rings that symbolize our love and commitment to one another.

Plus, they’re shiny.  And nice to look at.  : )

P.S. The futhubs’ ring was beautifully made, a perfect fit, exactly what he wanted, AND under $20.  Boo-frickin-yah.  Eat that, wedding industry.

3 Responses to “The One with the Giddy Futhubs”

  1. Stephanie January 25, 2012 at 5:14 PM #

    #1 – I love the term futhubs..lol so cute
    and in that same vein, my futhubs was giddy when he got his ring too. He has professed so many times that he “isn’t a jewelry person,” so it makes it so much more exciting for me to see how excited he gets. Isn’t it moments like that that make it so awesome being engaged?

    • janeaintme January 25, 2012 at 10:56 PM #

      Haha, glad you like the term. I’m a big fan of ridiculous nicknames 😛

      Also, I LOVE that your futhubs got so excited about his ring too! haha. And you’re so right– I absolutely treasure moments like that. It reminds me that all the wedding planning chaos is more than worth it. =]

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. sarahbeth1989 January 31, 2012 at 7:18 AM #

    We got ours from Amazon too! We think alike with this wedding stuff for sure. He was so giddy and kept wearing it around his house haha.

Leave a Reply

