The One with the Blubbering

31 Jan

What else are you stressed out about?” asked the futhubs gently, as he stroked my hair.

Handmade Wedding Invitation

DIY Invite - Image via Wikipedia

All the things,” I whispered.  And then it came pouring out like Pandora’s box of wedding craziness.  Wedding decorations.  Favors.  Figuring out flowers.  All the inserts to go with our wedding invitations.  Wedding invitations!  Wording them.  Setting a deadline for one of our groomsmen to design it.  Getting them printed in time.  Inviting people over for an assembly line.  Getting them sent out.  Having time to send out multiple rounds of invitations.  Where to stay the night before the wedding.  Where to put the out-of-towner bridesmaids.  Not knowing how to ‘DIY’ anything at all.  Wanting our wedding to be pretty without pinching our wallets more than we already have.

“And it’s so stupid because I look at all these wedding blogs and see all these themed weddings –  and I’d love for our wedding invitations to have a cohesive theme that carries through the ceremony and the reception – but I don’t know how to do it.  And I’m frustrated at myself because I know that that’s not important and who CARES if our wedding is themed and ‘blog-worthy.’  But I just want it to feel pretty.”  (Ah, yes.  That would be me waving the crazy-bride flag.  Nice and high now.  Also, I started off sputtering and totally ended up blubbering).

The futhubs murmurred something akin to, “My poor girl!”  And he took me in his arms.  He kissed my face and whispered in my ear:

“The theme for our wedding is us.  I love you.  And I would marry you in any kind of wedding.  Pinwheel-themed, gothic, Halloween, whatever…  I’m just so excited to marry you.

The rest of that stuff, you don’t have to worry so much about.  You can worry or you can pray about it– you don’t have to do both.  Our God is a God who provides.  It’ll all work out.  I promise.

…more blubbering on my part.  Gah!  He’s right.  And he’s so frigging patient with me.  haha.  I’m grateful to be with someone who’ll hold me when I’m overwhelmed, listen kindly, lift my chin, and give me honest, loving truth.  I love this man.

3 Responses to “The One with the Blubbering”

  1. sarahbeth1989 January 31, 2012 at 7:17 AM #

    Girl! You got this! I understand as I am planning a wedding myself right now…there’s pressure and this idea you have in your mind but sometimes it’s difficult to execute it the way you imagine it..on a budget that is. Hey, this morning I posted a free ebook you can download called your dream wedding on a budget. You may know all of it already but it may be helpful! http://sarahelisabethshaffer.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/free-ebook-your-dream-wedding-on-a-budget/

    Anyway, it’s all gonna work out just like he said. God is good and takes care of us. Sounds like you have a good man on your hands.

    • janeaintme February 3, 2012 at 12:49 AM #

      Thanks, girl =] It’s both calming and reassuring to know that I’m not the only bride feeling wedding stress/pressure. And thanks for the free ebook recommendation– I totally downloaded it and started reading! Good stuff.

  2. sarahbeth1989 January 31, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

    hey girl! I just wanted you to know since you are a follower that I changed my blog URL today to becomingaproverbs31woman.wordpress.com. I have some exciting changes coming up! If you don’t receive follower emails, then you will probably have to subscribe again or manually change the URL. Sorry about the inconvenience but just wanted to update you!

Leave a Reply

